CBMSTUFF FORUM
WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - Printable Version

+- CBMSTUFF FORUM (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum)
+-- Forum: CBMSTUFF PRODUCTS (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: WiModem232 (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=79)
+--- Thread: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset (/showthread.php?tid=492)

Pages: 1 2


WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - sean_skroht - 03-08-2018

Hi Jim,

A friend of mine recently bought 2 of these WiModems on the 23rd February of which I was a recipient of one of them.

I installed it into my A600 and used it in conjunction with Term. Set Term to 300 baud and connected fine with the WiModem. I then set Baud to 115200 and again Term connected fine with the WiModem. I attempted to write the setting permanently to it by typing AT&W and it seemed to write fine. Turned both the computer and the WiModem off and on to see if the setting was saved. Unfortunately when I restarted Term it would not connect to the WiModem at 115200. Tried setting it back to 300 and still wouldn't connect to the WiModem. So I have no idea what baud rate the WiModem might be.

Therefore I tried using the emergency reset by shorting out the two pads underneath but the light would not turn blue. Sat there for ages. Got my friend to try and reset his and it would not reset either. Is there something I need to do first before the emergency reset or is there a fault with them not resetting?

Thanks for your time.


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - Beery Miller - 03-08-2018

I've done one reset when I first got my unit. It is not easy. I would suggest continue trying to short that connection to cause the reset until you are successful.


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - admin - 03-08-2018

You need to put the jumper on BEFORE you power up the unit.


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - sean_skroht - 03-08-2018

Yep I have done this on multiple occasions. The device refuses to reset. The same with my mates device.

UPDATE: While shorting out the pads I turned the unit on and off several times and it eventually reset. Took quite a few goes, more than a dozen at least. Should it be this difficult?


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - admin - 03-08-2018

No, but if you don't have solid contact of the pads before and prior to turning on the power, it won't work.


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - Gods - 03-23-2018

(03-08-2018, 03:45 AM)sean_skroht Wrote: I installed it into my A600 and used it in conjunction with Term. Set Term to 300 baud and connected fine with the WiModem. I then set Baud to 115200 and again Term connected fine with the WiModem. I attempted to write the setting permanently to it by typing AT&W and it seemed to write fine. Turned both the computer and the WiModem off and on to see if the setting was saved. Unfortunately when I restarted Term it would not connect to the WiModem at 115200. Tried setting it back to 300 and still wouldn't connect to the WiModem. So I have no idea what baud rate the WiModem might be.
Hi,
I also have this issue when i set the baud rate to 115200 bps. I do "AT*B115200" and AT&W (The command AT&W0 don't work, give ERROR msg) + power cycle modem. I must use the RESET jumper. I got this on the terminal screen (At 115200bps). Configured at 19200 bps no probs at all. 
 
Code:
ets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:1, boot mode:(3,7)

load 0x4010f000, len 1384, room 16
tail 8
chksum 0x2d
csum 0x2d
v3de0c112
~ld

Also difficult to me to connect to my router. I've the diffusion of the SSID disabled. And the wimodem don't connect to it, even with the right SSID and pasword in the command line. I've to re-actived the diffusion and let configure the wimodem and now is ok. I deactived again the SSID diffusion and now is working.
I'm using v2 and FW2.80.
(Sorry for may bad english)


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - admin - 03-23-2018

AT&W0 is an invalid command.

By "diffusion" I think you mean encryption?

Try using the AT*NS option.

That data is normal if you are booting at 76800 baud.  You should not see that at 115200 baud.


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - Gods - 03-23-2018

(03-23-2018, 03:23 PM)admin Wrote: AT&W0 is an invalid command.

By "diffusion" I think you mean encryption?

Try using the AT*NS option.

That data is normal if you are booting at 76800 baud.  You should not see that at 115200 baud.

You said in the the manual that "AT&W0" is allowed... (?)
No, i talk about hidden SSID or Turning Off SSID Broadcast.
I see it (Bootloader ?) at 115200bps, but is not important Smile
Great device! Love it Big Grin


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - admin - 03-23-2018

Yes, that is the boot loader, but it is at 76800 baud.


RE: WiModem232 Won't Emergency Reset - Gods - 03-23-2018

(03-23-2018, 08:38 PM)admin Wrote: Yes, that is the boot loader, but it is at 76800 baud.

OK. I read that is the serial speed of the ESP-12F module. I'm also playing with the ESP8266 myself , with the small ESP-01S.
You program it in "C" code ?
OK for the 76800bps but i'm using Hyper terminal on Win7 and that serial speed isn't available. Mystery... Wink