CBMSTUFF FORUM
Turning the WiModem232 on/off - Printable Version

+- CBMSTUFF FORUM (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum)
+-- Forum: CBMSTUFF PRODUCTS (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: WiModem232 (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=79)
+---- Forum: Usage (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=81)
+---- Thread: Turning the WiModem232 on/off (/showthread.php?tid=458)



Turning the WiModem232 on/off - Byte Knight - 01-23-2018

Here's my solution.  I use a USB micro cable with on/off switch here:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JU24Z3W/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Then use a USB micro -> mini converter here:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002O1S8IE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Any better solutions out there?


RE: Turning the WiModem232 on/off - admin - 01-23-2018

I am using a rechargeable USB battery that has an on/of switch. I will be selling these shortly.


RE: Turning the WiModem232 on/off - Kailef - 01-23-2018

I had an extra TP-LINK smart plug I wasn't using. My ridiculous solution was to configure it to work with my Alexa devices. So, I say "Alexa, turn off the modem". Heh, heh.

I find it highly amusing to use voice commands to control hardware that interfaces with my Apple //e.


RE: Turning the WiModem232 on/off - admin - 01-23-2018

LOL! That's creative.


RE: Turning the WiModem232 on/off - c64Noob - 01-28-2018

(01-23-2018, 12:35 PM)Byte Knight Wrote: Here's my solution.  I use a USB micro cable with on/off switch here:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JU24Z3W/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Then use a USB micro -> mini converter here:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002O1S8IE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Any better solutions out there?

Thanks - you've given me the idea of getting a 2A inline lamp rocker switch. Then chop up the long mini USB cable I'm using. Then wire it up with the switch.

If I solder in some extra wire for length for the data wires as well - it can still be used as a data cable for something else.