The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined property: MyLanguage::$archive_pages - Line: 2 - File: printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.29 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code 2 errorHandler->error_callback
/printthread.php 287 eval
/printthread.php 117 printthread_multipage



CBMSTUFF FORUM
Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - Printable Version

+- CBMSTUFF FORUM (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum)
+-- Forum: CBMSTUFF PRODUCTS (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: WiModem232 / WiModem232 Pro (https://www.cbmstuff.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=79)
+--- Thread: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 (/showthread.php?tid=841)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - DarkLord - 10-30-2022

Okay, old thread but the same problem (mostly) so I'm going to resurrect it.

I've got the WiModem232 working like 90% great with my BBS, DarkForce. So just to keep it current, it's an Atari Mega ST4, TOS v2.06, AdSpeed accelerator @16mhz, 4 megs of RAM, running off a 4 gig SCSI hard drive. I'm using BBS Express! ST for the BBS software. Port speed is limited to 19.2k.

I also posted this over at SoutherAmis.com just in case the WiModem232 owners there could help.

Most things have gone better this time. It's connecting fine, speed seems to
be good and I'm not seeing the broken screens (graphic glitches) that I did
before. Games that need the connect speed reported correctly are working.

Downloading from my Win10 box with SyncTerm - success.
Uploading from my Win10 box with SyncTerm and xmodem - success.

Downloading from my Linux laptop with SyncTerm - success.
Uploading from my Linux laptop with SyncTerm and xmodem - success.

Downloading from my Mega STe with Connect95/TAZ and the Lantronix UDS10 - success.
Uploading from my Mega STe with Connect95/TAZ and the Lantronix UDS10 - success.
(xmodem with TAZ, zmodem with Connect95)

Downloading from my STacy with Connect95/TAZ and the WiModem232 - FAILURE.
Uploading from my STacy with Connect95/TAZ and the WiModem232 - FAILURE.

So, I hooked up my 3rd WiModem232 to the Mega STe and... FAILURE. Using the same
setup as with the STacy above.

So I went back and using SETTER.TTP from the HSModem suite, I made sure the download
and upload buffers on all 3 machines (Mega ST, Mega STe, STacy) are set to 256. I also set the
buffers on all 3 WiModems to 256 (AT*BL256). I tried it with flow control off on all 3 machines and
I tried it with flow control on - on all 3 machines. Results. FAILURE.

Just for the fun of it, I put a Lantronix UDS10 back on the Mega STe and ran DarkForce's backup
copy from there. Logging in to it with my STacy and it's WiModem232 was a success. I could upload
(xmodem) and download just fine with Connect95/TAZ.

So basically, here on my network, I can NOT download or upload anything that involves going from
one WiModem232 to another WiModem232.

I don't get it. In all instances it's usually some kind of CRC error and/or timeout resulting in the request being cancelled by the sender (DarkForce). I'm betting that there's just some simple setting that I'm overlooking. I just don't know what it is...Sad

Baffled in Kentucky....


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - admin - 11-01-2022

Do you have the Telnet translation set correctly? Ideally you will want NONE of the items requiring Telnet translation. Keep in mind that anything that goes over-air has latency, and depending on the transfer protocol and the amount of delay you could be exceeding the window for the protocol. This is common for Zmodem, but really should not be an issue for Xmodem, Ymodem, and other protocols. The Telnet translation will definitely affect ALL transfers if you have any item in the chain not set correctly.


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - DarkLord - 11-01-2022

Okay, but do keep in mind that the WiModem232 on the BBS works *perfectly* with every other platform and software I've used, to successfully upload (Xmodem) and download (Zmodem) files.

It's *only* when I try to download/upload files with another computer using a WiModem232 that it fails.

With that in mind, I'm unsure about the "chain" of items. The one I'm familiar with is the command:

AT*T[x] where x can be 0 or 1. 0 is none (raw, I'm assuming?) and 1 is for telnet. I have both WiModem232's set to 0.

If there are other commands that affect raw/telnet modes, please list them so I can check to see if I have them
set correctly.

Thanks!


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - admin - 11-02-2022

I transfer files between my Amiga and PC all of the time, either using direct connection (one calling the other through terminal programs) or using AmiExpress BBS. I did most all of the development work WiModem232 to WiModem232 on various machines (Atari ST, Amiga, PC, C64, Tandy 102).

This could be a matter where the latency is too long between both over-air transfers through the router. You can look at your ping times via a PC to see if there is something in the router that is slowing things down.

You only need to worry about Telnet if you are using a Telnet portal for connections.


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - DarkLord - 11-02-2022

Okay, I ran the ping command for my router and my BBS:

Linksys Router:

C:\Users\darkl>ping -t10 10.59.1.1

Pinging 10.59.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.59.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 10.59.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
Control-C

BBS WiModem232:

C:\Users\darkl>ping -t10 10.59.1.104

Pinging 10.59.1.104 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=98ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.104: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 10.59.1.104:
Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 98ms, Average = 21ms
Control-C

So this got me thinking. I next pinged the WiModem232
that's on my Mega STe (the one I use to call into my BBS
with):

C:\Users\darkl>ping -t10 10.59.1.115

Pinging 10.59.1.115 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.59.1.115: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 10.59.1.115:
Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 63ms, Average = 12ms
Control-C

I ran ping multiple times for both WiModem232's and it
always started out with a high ping time then after a few
moments dropped to 1ms.

Interestingly enough, I got even worse results when I
pinged my wireless HP printer:

C:\Users\darkl>ping -t10 10.59.1.126

Pinging 10.59.1.126 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.59.1.126: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=255

Ping statistics for 10.59.1.126:
Packets: Sent = 12, Received = 12, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 84ms, Average = 37ms
Control-C

What do you think is going on here? Is what I'm seeing
the results of really bad latency on my wireless network?

Thanks.


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - admin - 11-03-2022

Yes. this looks like some kind of router issue. Anything local (feet away from the router) should consistently have pings times that are less than 5ms, and typically you will see 1ms.

Which linksys router do you have? Also, if you have something like a PiHole or similar device that will definitely add time at least for the first ping as that is how they work.


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - DarkLord - 11-03-2022

It does, but only after the first few pings - then it goes to 1ms (with the WiModem232's).

The HP wireless printer, on the other hand, gets consistently bad ping times and it's
sitting on the same desk as the router! (literally like 3 feet above it). Point of fact
though, it's never had a problem with receiving and printing any files.

I'm currently using a Linksys EA8300 router.

I've got a Kubuntu Linux laptop but I had to google for what a "PiHole" is. Smile

I do not have PiHole installed. I've got Adblocker installed on the browsers on my
laptop and Win10 desktops but I don't think that's what we're talking about here.

I guess it's normal but it's always a CRC error (usually repeated) that occurs when
trying to upload/download WiModem232 to WiModem232, then followed by a time
out or the sender cancelling. Again, it's never from any other combination here,
including people calling in from all over the world. They are downloading from their
end, via the WiModem232 on my BBS, just fine (they tell me).

Thanks.


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - admin - 11-03-2022

The difference is that people are calling to your router and then over-air to the WiModem232. When you are using 2 WiModem232's you have double the over-air traffic... one goes to the router over-air and the router goes over-air to the other WiModem232. That at very least doubles the latency.

I will look up the issues the EA8300 might have.


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - DarkLord - 11-04-2022

Okay, thanks. I googled for the same thing back when I had first started this message thread but didn't find anything relevant. Perhaps you'll do better.

BTW, I've got another feature request. Don't shoot me! Smile

Okay, currently the WiModem232 has an auto answer if the BBS/computer is busy. That's a great feature and really dead handy for letting callers know the board is busy.

Is there any way you can add a second message? I know it sounds crazy, but hear me out.

If the BBS is offline, currently a potential caller gets nothing. Their call just doesn't work but they don't know why. If there was a 2nd message, one that responds if the BBS is offline, but the WiModem232 is still on and active, it would be very helpful. A SysOp could have something like:

The DarkForce! BBS is currently down for maintenance - Please call back later...

See what I mean? I don't know if you can do it but it would be great. Maybe something like:

AT*BUSY2[=x]

Thanks, and sorry to be so "needy"... Smile


RE: Downloading problems with WiModem 232 and a UDS-10 - admin - 11-04-2022

The WiModem232 can't respond to anything if it is offline! Smile It has to be online to be able to answer a call, and the only time they will get the busy message is if there is already a current connection. Adding messages is not a problem, but I am not sure how/where you tell the WiModem232 to connect to something in order for it to be busy.

You could have a maintenance script (that temporarily changes the AT*BUSY message to whatever you want it to say, and then does a ATDTGOOGLE.COM:80). This would connect to google forever and people would get the new BUSY message. To go back to normal just do ATZ which restores the original string. No matter what you are going to have to do something that would tell the WiModem232 that you are in maintenance mode.

What you need really has nothing to do with "BUSY" because that does require a current connection. What you need is an auto-responder. This could be a new command that can put the WiModem232 into auto-answer mode and automatically send a message when a connection occurs, and immediately hangs up. This would require that you send a command to the WiModem232 to put it into this mode.