CBMSTUFF FORUM

Full Version: Convert .imd to .scp files?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi!

I'm new to the SuperCard Pro, but I love it.  Jim, great work here.  I saw you at CommVEx last year, and just got one last week.

I'm wanting to take existing .imd files that are provided as disk images by someone else, and use the SuperCard Pro to write them to a fresh floppy.

Does the software allow a method to do this?

Here are the source .imd files.  http://bit.ly/1FJMQbr

I'm writing to Double-Density 5.25" floppies, formatted to 10 sectors per track.

Thanks!
-AJ
You might be able to use the HxC floppy drive emulator software to convert the .IMD file to .scp. SCP only handles .scp files, and Amiga .adf and C64 .g64 files. I have never seen the .imd format before. What creates it?
Thanks!

I actually don't know how these .imd files were created, as they were created by someone else and archived at bitsavers.org

So, I had to look it up myself, and Wiki seems to explain it fairly well:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMG_(file_format)

I will try HxC software and look into it. Thanks!
-AJ
.imd is an Apple disk image? Your link doesn't show that.

.imd is an image of a Windows system hard drive or floppy disk from what I could find.

What type of disk are you expecting to be creating?
(06-29-2015, 12:54 PM)admin Wrote: [ -> ].imd is an Apple disk image?  Your link doesn't show that.

.imd is an image of a Windows system hard drive or floppy disk from what I could find.

What type of disk are you expecting to be creating?

Oh, yes, I see...I pasted the wrong link defining .imd files...my bad. Please disregard that.

I cannot speak to the machine that the person who created the images used, but the disks that were imaged are for the AT&T UNIX PC, from 1985.

They should be 5.25" double density (not high-density) disks, formatted to 10 sectors per track.

Does this help?